Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

My friend "Kit" is a trans woman in dire need of temporary housing. She is recovering from complications of major surgery, along with a "surprise" blood clot. Just as she got back on her feet, she was let go in a round of company lay-offs earlier this month.

Kit has to be out of her current residence by May 9th. She has a rental lined up to move into June 1st, but she has nowhere else to go during the time between. As a trans woman, options like homeless shelters are extremely dangerous and not an option.

This is why I'm asking for help. Kit needs a queer/trans-friendly place to crash between May 9th and June 1st. She has money to cover food for herself and other personal necessities during her stay.

Other things of note: Kit has no pets and is severely allergic to cats. She is also allergic to cigarette smoke, which causes breathing issues and migraines -- but, she's noticed she's okay if people smoke outside. She's 420-friendly.

Kit has no special requirements when it comes to sleeping arrangements; she's fine with a bed, a couch, or even a sleeping bag on the floor. The WiFi password so she can job hunt on her laptop would be great, too. ;)

Kit lives in the Denver/Boulder/Longmont area.

If anybody is able to assist with space for her to get on her feet again, please contact Kit at helpkitnow@gmail.com.

Thanks all! Please signal boost!

This entry was originally posted at http://nonny.dreamwidth.org/550276.html. Please comment there using OpenID.


( 7 comments — Leave a comment )
May. 2nd, 2016 08:20 am (UTC)
Wow let me talk to Walter. Bonus is he has a huuuuge 6000 square foot house and Kit could stay in the basement area which has a gameroom, spare bedroom, office, and yes, a big family room area with a couch and there a full bath and a half down there, with a little fridge and sink. I think it was really mean as an in-laws quarters, because it's an entire liveable floor that has doors which look out to the mountains. It's in a fairly remote area though called Larkspur which is about fifteen minutes from Colorado Springs, a half hour from Castle Rock, and probably about an hour and ten minutes from Denver proper.

Walter unfortunately is also severely allergic to cats and smoke as well. He definitely doesn't do 420. Let me talk ot him and I can get to Kit by her e mail. The only thing he'd care about is that she be very clean and tidy.
May. 2nd, 2016 11:18 am (UTC)
Oh that would be great! I've known Kit for a bit, and she seems to be very flexible, and (unless I'm confusing her with someone else; it's 4am and I'm falling asleep, so this is totally possible) I believe she's mentioned that after having to deal with hoarders in her family, she tries very hard to keep things orderly, so that she doesn't have a daunting mess that can screw with even a neurotypical person's executive function.

I know she's mentioned that she's still recovering from surgery, so she doesn't have as much energy for cleaning as she used to -- but, I can say that knowing her, with staying for only a short period of time, she would treat it as being a guest in someone's home, and it is beyond rude to make a mess in the home of someone who has very graciously allowed you a place to stay while you get on your feet.

Please thank Walter from me, as well. And thank you, too, for seeing this and being willing to see if Walter would be willing to help. She's had a rough few months, and not much of a support network locally -- and add to that, someone who was a mother figure to her betrayed her absolutely (it's still very raw and she may not talk about it).

I commented to her that as a result of this, it's possible she'd meet people who want to be friends with her. Obviously, that's no obligation to you, but you could say I'm a bit of a "friend matchmaker," lol. :)

TY again, so much. <3
May. 3rd, 2016 03:41 am (UTC)
I'll talk to him and see what he says about it. I can't promise anything though but I can at least try :P
May. 3rd, 2016 09:12 am (UTC)
Yeah, if you could check in, that would be great. Kit got a bunch of messages from people who have cats, which... sigh. I'm glad people are willing to help, but I thought I was fairly solid in stating "households with cats won't work." Maybe I need to put it in size 16 bold font.
May. 3rd, 2016 09:21 am (UTC)
Yeah well people do not always READ and that is the truth, so seriously...you might want to put it in italics!!!

This is where it's really hard for Walter and I because he is very allergic to cats even though my house is spotless, because it's the dander that causes allergies, not just the hairs. So he can't stay here if he visits, and I'm usually over there in Colorado with him. So if he does take Kit in maybe I can meet her then too :)
May. 5th, 2016 03:13 pm (UTC)
Yup, Kit is very allergic to cats as well, sounds like the same severity. If he is willing, can you let me know he's going to shoot her an e-mail, and if not, let me know it's a no-go? I've mentioned it to Kit and it sounds like the perfect match for her; she's gotten a few responses but two had cats and one was in a dangerous area, especially for a trans woman.

I think you would get on well. Kit is very sweet, although she doesn't see it (true of so many of us). If this matters to Walter, she tends to be introverted, quiet, and keep to herself. That's not to say she's anti-social, but she only has so many social spoons, so to speak. She doesn't have many friends in the area, so if you guys hit it off, that would be great for her. If she were local to me, I'd take her in, but, uh, Washington State is a little bit far away.... >_>
May. 2nd, 2016 03:47 pm (UTC)
I'm not sure how far apart their towns are, but it sounds like amaebi would be a good person for Kit to know. kitsunegeek also.
( 7 comments — Leave a comment )